PACKAGINGS MUSEE RODIN

Art direction and design of the packaging for miniature reproductions of sculptures by Auguste Rodin and Camille Claudel on sale in the Rodin Museum shop in Paris.
Wooden boxes and straw interior.
The Kiss (A.Rodin), The Cathedral (A.Rodin), The Thinker (A.Rodin), The Waltz (C.Claudel).
© Delatour Design Paris / Musée Rodin Paris. Royal River Edition.

Service

Art direction, pack design

Client

Musée Rodin, Paris

baiser v1 long.jpg

MUSEE RODIN

PACKAGINGS

From packaging design to Art direction.

Any new design project is a new challenge, new data, new constraints, whether they are about use, aesthetic or commercial. This packaging / box developed for the shop (physical and online) of the Rodin Museum in Paris was developed in the spirit of transport boxes for Art pieces, paintings or sculptures, in use at the time of Augustus Rodin (1840-1917) just like they are today.
The use of wood to keep the piece straight away from blows, straw to confine it and absorb shocks.
On the face, the sculptor's signature, on the profile the mention "fragile" and on the other a text in the chosen typography, directly related to the work of art. This packaging design is therefore both a protective element of reproduction, but also rewarding by giving it the status of almost original pieces, packaging that highlights the object, which we will surely keep as much as its content.

Delatour Design Paris, as a packaging and global design studio, had to create a packaging as an object, not only useful but in reference to the history of art in order to properly highlight "The Thinker" , "The Kiss", "The Cathedral" by Auguste Rodin and "The Waltz" by Camille Claudel. Thinking of the project as a whole, bringing more than the client's request, contributing to the history of a brand, a place, a woman and a man, this is an integral part of what represents for us Art direction.

This very specific packaging thus allowed the Rodin Museum to place this collection of miniature sculptures at the top of the sales of the museum's official store. Starting from a box for a sculpture, the number has now grown to 4 product references , thus leading to the creation of a very recognizable and statutory collection. We are proud to collaborate with the Musee Rodin in this way and to participate in the international influence of the one who is considered perhaps the greatest French sculptor, with an extraordinary work sometimes gentle, sometimes brutal, at the crossroads of Romanticism and Impressionism, product of the struggle between form and light.

 

Jimmy Delatour, Directeur de création / Designer.

Boutique Musee Rodin : 79 rue de Varenne 75017 Paris - France.

Online : https://boutique.musee-rodin.fr

PACKAGINGS MUSEE RODIN

Direction artistique et design des packagings des reproductions miniatures des sculptures d'Auguste Rodin et Camille Claudel en vente dans la boutique du Musée Rodin à Paris. Coffrets en bois type caisse de transport et intérieur paille.
Le Baiser (A.Rodin), La Cathédrale (A.Rodin), Le Penseur (A.Rodin), La Danse (C.Claudel).
© Delatour Design Paris / Musée Rodin. Edition Royal River.

Service

Direction artistique, Design pack,

Client

Musée Rodin, Paris

baiser v1 long.jpg

MUSEE RODIN

PACKAGINGS

De la conception de packagings à la direction artistique.

Tout nouveau projet de design est un nouveau challenge, de nouvelles données, de nouvelles contraintes, qu'elles soient d'usage, esthétiques ou commerciales. Ce packaging / coffret développé pour la boutique (physique et en ligne) du musée Rodin à Paris à été développé dans l'esprit des boites de transport d’œuvres d'art, peintures ou sculptures, en usage à l'époque d'Auguste Rodin (1840-1917) tout comme aujourd'hui.
L'utilisation du bois pour garder la pièce droite à l'abri des coups, la paille pour la confiner et amortir les chocs.
Sur la face, la signature du sculpteur, sur le profil la mention "fragile" et sur l'autre un texte à la typographie choisie, en lien direct avec l’œuvre d'art. Ce design de packaging est donc à la fois un élément protecteur de la reproduction, mais également valorisant en lui donnant un statut de pièces presque originale, un emballage qui met en valeur l'objet, que l'on gardera surement au même titre que son contenu.

Delatour Design Paris, en tant que studio de design packaging et global, se devait de réaliser un emballage comme un objet, non seulement utile mais en référence à l'histoire l'art afin de mettre en valeur comme il se doit "Le Penseur", "Le Baiser", "La Cathédrale" d'Auguste Rodin et "la Valse" de Camille Claudel. Penser le projet comme un tout, apportant plus que la demande du client, contribuant à l'histoire d'une marque, d'un lieux, d'une femme et d'un homme, cela fait partie intégrante de ce que représente pour nous la direction artistique.

Ce packaging bien spécifique à ainsi permis au Musée Rodin de placer cette collection de sculptures miniatures en tête des ventes de la boutique officielle du musée. Partant d'un coffret pour une sculpture, le nombre s'est aujourd'hui étendu à 4 références produit, amenant ainsi à la création d'une collection bien reconnaissable et statutaire. Nous sommes fier de collaborer ainsi avec le musée et de participer au rayonnement international de celui qui est considéré comme peut-être le plus grand sculpteur français, à l’œuvre hors normes tantôt douce, tantôt brutale, aux croisements du romantisme et de l'impressionnisme, produit de la lutte entre la forme et la lumière.

 

Jimmy Delatour, Directeur de création / Designer.

Boutique du Musée Rodin : 79 rue de Varenne dans le 17éme arrondissement à Paris.

En ligne sur : https://boutique.musee-rodin.fr