MCDONALDS TABLEWARE

Concept and Design of a range of over-packaging / bio-rubber tableware. Items given as gifts in BigMac menus. © Delatour Design Paris / McDonald's

Service

Product design, Art direction

Client

McDonalds / The Marketing Store

McDONALDS

TABLEWARE

McDonald's project, packaging or tableware ?

Imagine a whole new user experience ... and I'm not talking about an app!
But more about how you will eat your BigMac at home, alone or with your friends before going to party.

The Marketing Store France came to us with the need for a modern and strong project to replace the Coca-Cola glass, a gift seen over and over again accompanying the BigMac menu of their main client McDonald's.
We offered them as requested superb customed designs of stoneware dishesand rendered in 3D for each item of the menu, the BigMac of course, the fries, the sunday and the drink.

However, my favorite project remains this one : not regular MacDonald's tableware, plate, pot and glass, but a faceted hybrid, between plates and overwrap organic rubber packaging (bio-rubber)! No more cardboard and stains right on the table, no plates you put your fries and burgers in by hand to make your table less messy, but rubber shells in which to place your BigMac, your fries, the Sunday and drink directly in without even taking them out of their original packaging boxes.

The idea? To make the BigMac experience more stylish, more elegant, but without losing the fast food spirit and the use to which McDonald's customers are accustomed to, which in some way would fade with the use of classic plates. Of course, each item is marked and signed with the M, reusable, washable and recyclable. Little plus, we added a place to pour the ketchup for the fries. They loved it! Unfortunately, after some customer testing, it was decided that the market was not yet ready for this project. What do you think ? Would you like to have this hybrid packaging tableware as a gift instead of a Coca-Cola glass?

Jimmy Delatour, founder of Delatour Design Paris.

MCDONALDS VAISSELLE / PACKAGING

Concept et Design d'une gamme de sur-packaging / vaisselle en bio-rubber, offert en cadeau dans les menus BigMac. © Delatour Design Paris / McDonald's

Service

Design produit

Client

McDonalds / The Marketing Store

McDONALDS

SUR-PACKAGING

Projet McDonalds, sur-packaging ou vaisselle ?

Imaginez une toute nouvelle expérience utilisateur ... et je ne parle pas d'une application!
Mais plutôt sur la façon dont vous mangerez votre BigMac à la maison, seul ou avec vos amis avant d'aller faire la fête.

 

The Marketing Store France est venu nous voir avec le besoin d'un projet moderne et fort pour remplacer le verre Coca-Cola, cadeau vu et revu accompagnant le menu BigMac de leur principal client McDonald's.
Nous leur avons proposé comme demandé de superbes designs de vaisselle en grès dessinés sur mesure et réalisés en  3D pour chaque élément du menu, le BigMac bien entendu, les frittes, le sunday et la boisson.

Cependant mon projet préféré reste celui-ci : pas une vaisselle MacDonald's à ordinnaire, mais un hybride à facettes, entre assiettes et suremballage en caoutchouc bio (bio-rubber) ! Plus de carton et de taches directement sur la table, pas d'assiettes dans lesquelles vous mettez vos frites et hamburgers à la main pour rendre votre table moins salissante, mais des coques en caoutchouc dans lesquelles placer directement votre BigMac, vos frites, le Sunday et la boisson sans même les sortir de leur emballage original.

L'idée ? Rendre l'expérience BigMac plus stylisée, plus élégante, mais sans perdre l'esprit fastfood et l'usage auxquels sont habitués les clients McDonald's, qui quelque part s’effacerait à l'utilisation d'assiettes classiques. Bien sûr, chaque élément est marqué et signé du M, réutilisable, lavable et recyclable. Petit plus, nous avons ajouté un endroit pour verser le ketchup pour les frites. Ils ont adoré ! Malheureusement, après quelques tests clients, il a été décidé que le marché n'était pas encore prêt pour ce projet. Qu'en pensez-vous ? Voudriez-vous avoir en cadeau cette vaisselle packaging hybride au lieu d'un verre Coca-Cola?

 

Jimmy Delatour, fondateur de Delatour Design Paris.